In exile – or not…

No home… No internet… No… tangentbord
Did I scare you? Don’t be
I have a home, I just can’t live there right now…
And I have Internet at work…
But no idea what will happen next.

It smelled! And I felt more and more sick. I blamed common cold. I blamed allergies. I blamed myself. For eating things that wasn’t good for me. But couldn’t understand what that would be. I blamed old pillows and bought new ones. And experienced more and more headaches, irritated eyes, fatigue… Et cetera…

An investigation made clear there’s a leakage in my bathroom. In the old plumbings.
Severe moist is flooding the walls. High levels of dampness, he said, the expert with the  measuring instrument. Most probably mould as well.
And an awful stench from the sewer in the kitchen was surely connected to this dilemma.

And I’ve been living here for a whole year now. No wonder I’m not feeling well.

Today! In a couple of hours, a man is coming to see the best way to work this out. And soon – on monday I hope – the company will start to decontaminate my bathroom. Fix the fractured plumbings and dry up all the nasty wetness.  How big this work will be, we won’t  know until they’ve started digging.

“You come and stay here meanwhile”, my best friend said before I even had the time to ask.
So yesterday I moved in with her. Though I need to fetch more of my things because this decontamination will take at least 6-8 weeks. I can’t help thinking: how will I cope! Without my habits and my hours alone! Without my own space!

But I’ll have my Mac and my pictures, my movies on the external hard drive, and books – and I’ve been given a room of my own.
It can be doable.

Is this a sign of something? And if that is the case, of what? It will be interesting to see what becomes of this.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Signs
10 comments

  1. Oh my gosh, Ninna. What a relief to discover and be able to fix such a toxic problem, despite the hassle and expense. We can’t live without water yet it is one if our most destructive forces!

    Do you have a library or bookstore nearby? I find them to be sanctuaries when temporarily displaced from comforts of home.

    I will be sending prayers for your equilibrium through this disruption.

    Like

    1. Yes it is indeed a relief! I couldn’t understand why my health became worse and worse.
      Not unlikely it also has worsen the pain and stiffness in the body. After all, the body is a whole system where every part afflicts each other.
      I felt like I had either inflammation or some kind of poison inside me.

      It’s okay! I am at work during daytime, and then I can pop by home for a while fixing things, and then I bike to my friend. And when the day come when they start digging holes in the floor, I can easily stay away for a while. Just fetching the mail – if there is any to fetch.
      And NOW I can be positive about it! When it’s about to be fixed!

      Like

    1. Thank you, Elisabeth! I hope so too! My friend is a wonderful person, and I have physical space there, with a room of my own. But hopefully I’ll also get enough “me-space” as well.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Isch ja! Men samtidigt skönt det blev upptäckt så det blir åtgärdat. Om man säger så här: inte särkilt kul med konstant “förkylning/allergi/trötthet” som bara blev värre allt eftersom.
      Men dom har inte kommit igång med själva jobbet än och det dröjer nog lite. Sen är det som sagt beräknat ta 6-8 veckor totalt. (Om det inte visar sig vara ännu värre när man väl börjar öppna upp – min tanke det där.)

      Like

    1. Yes it’s a relief. I just have to come here in the afternoons a couple of times and move away things from the hallway, bathroom and kitchen. And bring with me things I’ll need during the stay at my friend. Clothes and such.
      Funny! You think you won’t need much, but still the loads on the bicycle is getting quite heavy.
      Thank you for your concern. *Hugs*

      Like

Comments are closed.