View from a window

27-juli-2010-Stockholm-city-1Stockholm. An evening in July 2010.
I was visiting my daughter and her husband in their recently bought apartment, and I had a couple of wonderful summer days.

The church on the big picture! I don’t know the name of it! Don’t live in Stockholm myself, you see. Just visiting once in a rarely while.
Linda probably told me. I probably forgot almost immediately.

I could guess though!
No…
I could google!
… the two towers might make that possible…

27_7-2010-utsikt-clearHögalidskyrkan… The church of Högalid… “the high slope”… “The Church on the way up to the top the High Hill”…

That’s a very logical name. I didn’t actually see that until I translated it into english. Even though I’m familiar with the old Swedish word “lid”, which is a very common ending of street names. A path up/down a hill! A slope!
Things you are very used to, you don’t always pay attention to.

It was very common further back in time, to name geographical issues like a village, an island et cetera, after specific occurrences in the environment. F.ex. if there was a creek, a high hill, a moor, or a bridge nearby.
Suffix or prefix could also language-wise come from other areas and countries. During the last 800-1000 years or so, the Swedish language have increasingly developed not only within the Germanic language family, but from many other realms as well. Latin, greek, hungarian. We mostly don’t even know any longer, where these particular words have come from. Unless one has specific interest in the history of languages of course.

But that is a slightly other story. Quite a big one though. And interesting!

On the whole, migrations and new settlements over big areas have undoubtedly influenced in many ways. Not only the language, but also culture, food, music… name it, you got it!
And we – we all kind of got a bit mixed up by that… O_o

27-juli-2010-Stockholm-city-2

Daytime stroll

Well! Back to Stockholm 2010!

The photographer – me – is standing by (at?) a window in the part of our Capital city called “Söder” – “South” – (situated just south of Gamla stan – The Old Town), and this island is really a Hill! Quite steep! I remember the walkings from the Metro station up here…

Apropos Stockholm! The name! I think I know why it’s called that! (At least I can guess, can’t I!) 
The part “holm” must come from “holme” which means a small island
The part “stock” could refer to woodcut. Logs who had been transported floating down streams from the woods somewhere up north-west down to the East-sea for further transport to… well… somewhere. Buying and selling, you know! And building.

That could be true, or at least a part of the truth, but I think the word “stock” rather refer to the meaning of the verb “to congest”. And since “holm” means a small island, it suggests Stockholm consists of lots of islands! Cluttered together, parted by water…
And it does! Small islands and bigger island and lots of water! All this 
between the East-sea (Östersjön) and the big lake Mälaren, also with lots of islands, peninsulas, coves… (have absolutely no idea how to translate that name. You just have to take it as it is…)

“Gamla stan” – the Old city – is a fairly small island in the middle of everything, and the very first population settled there. Very strategically! Sheltered by water on each side, benefitting from fishing, trading, by boats reaching to any coast they wanted! Even for concurring…
And then the town grow into a city over the centuries. S
uccessively more and more nearby islands were inhabited, and today Stockholm is a fairly big city. Not huge! Fairly big!

I might be wrong about all this – except for walking up the hill… and for the language part…
What do I know…
It’s early saturday morning and I haven’t slept well, so what do you expect of me? (just kidding)

Anyway! Stockholm is stunningly beautiful! That I do know!
And so you can correct what I may have said wrongly, here is a link to Wikipedia/Stockholm/history.

27_7-2010-utsikt-clearWeekly Photo Challenge: Vivid

9 comments

    1. There are beautiful architecture, no doubt. But not only old buildings etc. There are also modern ones.
      And about the colors – yes it can be very colorful here but also gray and dull, so don’t take it from my “over-edited” pictures! Then, I believe, you would be disappointed. 😀 😀 😀 ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Verkligen jätteintressant det där med varför platser heter som de heter. Jag har också funderat på varför Stockholm heter som det gör och vad det betyder men din beskrivning var klockren. Tack för det! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.