What a coincidence! What a treat!

I had just posted this on my other blog – Small Kitchen – when I saw this weeks theme was Treat. So why not post it here as well! It’s late friday afternoon. A good time for treats. Not only once. Twice! Or as many as I like!

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: TREAT

Comfort food!

Mashed root vegetables with butter and seasalt, “quick-bread” and pickled cucumber

mash

I don’t know how nutritious this might be, but I felt like having something like this today! Comforting! Warm! Rich! A Vata-balancing treat, I would say.

The Mash
  • two small/medium sized potatoes
  • about the same amount of swede (rutabaga/swedish turnip)
  • one small carrot (not too small)
  • black pepper – finely grounded
  • sea salt
  • parsley
  • butter

Peel the vegetables and cut them into cubes, ruffly 1 cm in size
Cook until soft – you can have a small amount of salt or broth in it, but don’t make it salty! Sea salt comes later.
Mash it ruffly with a big dash of butter and some liquid – I use the liquid it’s cooked in, but take only little of it! If too much the mash won’t be a mash any longer but rather some kind of gruel. It also tastes so good with soft pieces of veggies left in the mash.
Taste with black pepper, seasalt and finely chopped parsley.

The “quick-bread”
  • One egg
  • 3 tablespoons of maize flour
  • seeds – pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds – about a handful
  • 2 tablespoons of water
  • a dash of oil – rapeseed or olive
  • some sea salt

Blend thoroughly and fry on medium temperature on both sides until golden color and dry. Use a big frying pan and some butter or coconut oil, and make the bread as big and thin as possible, almost like a pancake.

I like pickled cucumber to this, and also some french Dijon mustard. Strong but not sweet.

14 comments

  1. Ninna, that reminds me of the old “bubble and squeak” which may have originated in the depression – never waste anything being the philosophy in those days. Yum 🙂 Cheers, Ken

    Like

    1. Hi Ken! I’m not familiar with that expression, but I think I know what you mean.
      I think those vegetables are excellent. Taste good, can be served in many different ways, nutritious and not at all expensive.
      The way we ate here in Sweden during the years of ww2, due to rationing et cetera, were much healthier than the way most people eat nowadays. That included among other things, more of locally grown root vegetables. Cheers! /Ninna

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Seems to be a very nice site, that one! Thank you again!
        Did I get this right? “Bubble and squeek” means cooking something new out of leftovers?
        My mom used to do that. So I’ve kind of grown up on leftovers – and basic homemade cooking and baking.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, you have it correct. One recipe on one site I checked out gave a recipe starting with cooking raw vegetables, but bubble & squeak was always made with leftovers in our household 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I always cook from scratch with fresh (or frozen) veggies. There are rarely any leftovers any more unless I want it to be. Living alone does that to a person. 😄
        It’s fun to learn new expressions. The english language are cluttered with them.
        Have a nice day!

        Like

    1. It tasted really good! I’ve started to buy more root vegetables lately. And the other day I bought a butternut pumpkin. Made a soup, and picture and recipe will soon be posted on my food blog

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.